Good Bye to a Genius

28 Oct

anky_bonfire

 

“I’ll lend you for a little while

My grandest foal, He said,

For you to love while he’s alive

And mourn for when he’s dead.

It may be one or twenty years,

Or days or months, you see.

But will you, till I take him back

Take care of him for me?

He’ll bring his charms to gladden you,

And should his stay be brief

You’ll have treasured memories

As solace for your grief.

I cannot promise he will stay,

Since all from earth return.

But there are lessons taught on earth

I want this foal to learn.

I’ve looked the wide world over

In my search for teachers true.

And from the throngs that crowd life’s lanes

With trust, I have selected you.

Now will you give him your total love?

Nor think the labor vain,

Nor hate me when I come

To take him back again?

I know you’ll give him tenderness

And love will bloom each day.

And for the happiness you’ve known

Forever grateful stay.

But should I come and call for him

Much sooner then you’d planned

You’ll brave the bitter grief that comes

And someday you’ll understand.”   

     

 

        Vale,  Bonfire.

May your meadow over the Bridge always be sunny and green.

Leave a Reply

